Rain Check, a Winston-Salem based acoustic quartet, has found its niche in putting a bluegrass twist on covers of songs by some of the world’s greatest songwriters from the ‘70’s on, combining them with an ever growing list of their own originals, along with an impressive collection of bluegrass classics. The result is total fun for any audience, anywhere.

Available for live performances in the mid-Atlantic states. Live music venues, festivals, corporate events, weddings and private parties preferred.

"This is bluegrass taken to a new level; an album that leaves you wanting more. These guys are having fun doing something they are clearly very good at."

Dan Joseph, Blueridge Express, CKWR, Waterloo, Ontario

The Members



Guitar and Vocals



Mandolin and Vocals



Banjo, Dobro and Vocals



Upright Bass and Vocals

"I am delighted that we chose Rain Check for our wedding ceremony and reception. Rain Check created the perfect atmosphere and was great 

to work with."

J. Grant, Winston-Salem



Red Wine for My Heart (2015)

Available here at CDBaby:

1. White Freightliner

2. Why Can't I Forget About You
3. Blue Ridge Parkway Blues
4. Red Wine for My Heart
5. Paden Road
6. Norwegian Wood
7. Homeward Bound
8. The Regulator
9. Rodeo Song
10. Please Come to Boston
11. Souvenirs
12. C & C (Live)

With the verve of our newest originals and the nerve to re-arrange songs by all time great songwriters including Paul McCartney and Paul Simon, “Red Wine For My Heart” takes Rain Check to a new place with a project we hope will stand the test of time.  Thanks go out to our stellar fiddle playing guest and friend, Glen Alexander, along with Wyatt Rice and Claiborne Woodall who appear on the Bonus Track.


Folly Time (2010)

Available here at CDBaby:
1. Cold Night In New Hampshire
2. Lose Yourself
3. Flash's Reel
4. Wild Flowers
5. There You Are
6. Tupelo Honey
7. The Witch
8. Doctor My Eyes
9. Chestnut Ridge
10. The Letter
11. You Are What I Am
12. Little Brick Church
13. A Wendy Day
14. Old Love

Released in 2010, “Folly Time” branches out with 7 original songs written by each of the band’s own members.  Folly Time placed in the top 30 new bluegrass cd’s of 2010 by WERU-FM.  This project also introduces new band member John Boulding, formerly with Shady Grove Band and co-founder of Wyatt Rice and Santa Cruz, on banjo and resonator guitar.


Confluence (2007)

Order directly from Rain Check

1.  Why You Been Gone So Long 
2.  C and C  D. 
3.  Speed of the Sound of Lonliness  
4.  Confluence  
5.  One Way Track  
6.  Big Nanny's Song
7.  No Sympathy 
8.  Long Train Coming 
9.  Hot Burrito Breakdown 
10.  If You Only Knew
11.  I Shot the Sheriff 

Rain Check’s maiden release in 2007, Confluence, displays this bluegrass band’s ability to put its own twist on songs by non-bluegrass artists including Eric Clapton, John Prine, Van Morrison and Bob Marley; along with 4 of its own originals.  The response this project got from bluegrass radio stations from Nashville to Canada, and from our live audiences, was a gift unto itself.


"Rain Check provides some of the most avant garde bluegrass music in the business today."

Dave Higgs, Bluegrass Breakdown WPLN, Nashville, TN

"My first thought about a bluegrass band was "Oh no - we don't want to hear twangy music." People were clapping - dancing and singing with them. They were funny, engaged our members, and were phenomenal!!!"

T. Marshall, Marnier's Cay Yacht Club

Contact Us